Joseph Breen among local people recognised in New Year 2023 Honours List

Joesph Patrick Breen from Ballycastle is among a number of locals who have been recognised in the New Years Honours list published this evening.

Joe has been awarded an OBE for services to Marine Science. He lately was the Senior Scientific Officer for the Department for Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs, Northern Ireland Executive.

Speaking to Causeway Coast Community this evening, Sean McCarry, Regional Commander of the Community Rescue Service said “It is with immense pride that we hear about our esteemed colleague Joe Breen’s recognition and honour of OBE.

“Joe is a founder member of the Community Rescue Service and has been Assistant Regional Commander with us for over 15 years. He is recognised throughout the Search and Rescue world as a very experienced and talented boat coxswain with over 40years in SAR having been involved with the Coastguard and the Lifeboat service previously. 

“On behalf of everyone at the CRS I send our many congratulations to him and his family and we look forward to having Joe as a much valued volunteer and friend for many years to come.”

Others named among the list are :

  • Mr Victor Chestnutt – Lately President, Ulster Farmers’ Union. For services to Agriculture – Award OBE
  • Mr Peter Jack – For services to Endurance Sport and Charity in Northern Ireland – Award MBE
  • Mrs Heather Pratt – Chair, Board of Governors, Rossmar Special School, Limavady, County Londonderry. For services to Education – Award MBE
  • Mr William Oliver – For services to Education, to Business and to Charities in County Londonderry – Award MBE
  • – Mr Anthony Morrison – For voluntary services to the community in Northern Ireland – Award – BEM

View the full list below…..