Whoa! Averaging 66,000 Unique Weekly Readers! 


Evans fires Tullans into last eight

1 Mins read
BT Coleraine

Dunaghy Old Boys 1 – Tullans 3

There was joy that greeted the final whistle at Landhead Road but also unmistakable relief, a reflection of Tullans recent uncertain form more than any threat to their hopes of silverware this season.

Dunaghy Old Boys, without a win from the 1st February, were unsurprisingly under siege from the start as Tullans tried to repair their recent blip, Tullans were awarded two penalties in the first 25 mins, but failed to convert them with Matthew Maguire and Ryan Moffitt both failing to beat Alan Christie in the Dunaghy goal.

And then, from their first attack of note, the home team found themselves ahead through Jonathan Parke scoring past Newman and giving Dunaghy Old Boys a 1-0 lead going into half-time, Dunaghy deserved this lead and were playing very well.

The second half began with Tullans having the ‘wind’ on their side and this brought a more composed and controlled display, Johnny Evans made an appearance for Tullans on the 59th minute and within a few minutes set up Matthew Maguire to strike from 20 yards into the bottom right hand corner of the net on 65 mins.

Tullans performance was not immediately liberated but possession was Dunaghy’s worst enemy.

The home team was caught again on the 70th minute when Chris McKee set up Johnny Evans and the veteran gave the visitors 2-1 lead.

On 76 minutes Evans hit a venomous strike from 35 yards which shaved the upright and on 84 minutes Ryan Moffitt killed the game off for Tullans when he struck from 19 yards into the bottom left hand corner of the net.

Best wishes to Dunaghy Old Boys for the remainder of the season and Steven Young for officiating.

The match was kindly sponsored by Deirdre Mairs (@foreverlivingproductsuk) who provides sports, energy and recovery aloe Vera based products. Contact Deirdre a shout for further information for top quality service products.

Dunaghy Old Boys: 1 Alan Christie 2 Mark Blair 3 Nathan Blair 4 Adam Gordon 8 Andrew Shepherd 9 Paul Robinson 10 Joe Patton 11 Jonathan Parke 12 Noel Halliday 14 Richard Murphy 17 Arnold Blair C
ubs: 5 Christopher Blair 16 Wesley Clyde 18 Dale Corbett

Tullans Red Star: 1 Scott Newman 4 David Craig 7 Jamie Baxter 8 Aaron McClements 9 Ryan Moffitt 10 Matthew Maguire 11 Declan McGahon C 12 Aaron Beech 14 Karl Campbell 15 Nigel Calvin 16 Christopher McKee

Subs: 5 David Cochrane 6 Jonathan McMullan 17 Jonathan Evans
Referee: Steven Young

[modula id=”38338″]

Related posts
Local NewsSport

Ballymoney man Joe was Portadown trophy winner!

1 Mins read
FacebookTwitterPinterestWhatsAppColeraine fan Joe Donnelly will be paying particular interest to Saturday’s game at Shamrock Park. That’s because the lifelong Coleraine supporter was…
Local NewsSport

No Coleraine fans at Portadown

1 Mins read
FacebookTwitterPinterestWhatsAppAfter a risk assessment by the local council, Portadown has announced the capacity of Shamrock Park has been decided as 438. Fans…
Local NewsSport

Watch Portadown game live

1 Mins read
FacebookTwitterPinterestWhatsAppColeraine’s game with Portadown will be available to live stream on pay per view on Saturday. It is available to live stream…