Whoa! Averaging 66,000 Unique Weekly Readers! 


Six goal Cahoon on fire

1 Mins read
Action from te Morning League Cup tie between Millburn and Ballyrashane at Rugby Avenue. Millburnj won 8-4 with Alan Cahooh hitting six of his side's goals.
BT Coleraine

Ballyrashane 4 – Millburn 8

Millburn returned to league action on Saturday morning with a tricky away fixture against Ballyrashane.

In the Opening 15 minutes Millburn were on top, playing into the wind and Gordon Douglas played a delicate reverse pass which Joel McDonald ran on to he found the far top corner from a tight angle to give Millburn the lead.

Ballyrashane equalised when the Millburn defence didn’t play to the whistle, allowing Ballyrashane through on goal to score.

Then, from a corner, the home side took the lead to make it 2- 1 which stayed that way until the half time break.

The second half became the Alan Cahoon show for Millburn, freely scoring six well taken goals. First, the equaliser a stong shot into the corner, he then made the game 3-2 and 4-2  for his hat trick before Ballyrashane got one back at 4-3.

Cahoon found the net again for his fourth and Millburns fifth when Chris Boreland squared to give him a simple tap in.

Another Millburn break found Alan Cahoon on the right side of the box he cut inside and smashed in a right footed shot into the top corner to make it 6-3and was on target again when he picked up the ball and his pace and skill got him ahead of the defender wide on rhe left he cut inside headed for goal rounded the keeper and tapped home to complete his double hat-trick and Millburn’s seventh to leqve it 7-3.

Ballyrashane got a corner which they scored from, but it was Millburn who finished the game off with a late goal, Gordon Douglas heading in at the back post to make the final score 8-4 to Millburn. A brilliant away team performance from Millburn and a lesson in finishing by an unstoppable Alan Cahoon who was on fire throughout the game.

Ballyrashane: 1 Dean Irwin 2 Tom Robinson 3 Cormac Watt 4 Alan McIntyre 5 Stephen Donnell 6 Christopher Hollinger C 7 Adam Mackey 8 Od Laverty 9 Jack Gray 10 Shane McKee 11 James McPartland.

Subs: 12 Andrew Macaulay 14 Damian Gaile 15 Stuart Cameron 16 Neil Ferguson 18 Daniel Simpson

Millburn: 1 Jonathan Holland 2 Ross Stewart 3 Dunn Isaac 4 Niall Honeyford C 5 Zac McCandless 6 Ally   Law 7 Christopher Boreland 8 Gordon Douglas 9 Alan Cahoon 10  Joel McDonald 11 James Tosh

Subs: 12 Steven McKeown 14 Andrew Campbell
Referee: Eamon Cassidy

[modula id=”38345″]

Related posts
Local NewsSport

Ballymoney man Joe was Portadown trophy winner!

1 Mins read
FacebookTwitterPinterestWhatsAppColeraine fan Joe Donnelly will be paying particular interest to Saturday’s game at Shamrock Park. That’s because the lifelong Coleraine supporter was…
Local NewsSport

No Coleraine fans at Portadown

1 Mins read
FacebookTwitterPinterestWhatsAppAfter a risk assessment by the local council, Portadown has announced the capacity of Shamrock Park has been decided as 438. Fans…
Local NewsSport

Watch Portadown game live

1 Mins read
FacebookTwitterPinterestWhatsAppColeraine’s game with Portadown will be available to live stream on pay per view on Saturday. It is available to live stream…